The Road to Missy’s Garden

ImageWelcome to my blog space. For those of you that haven’t spent time with with Keith and me,  I want to start by explaining the name of the blog…. For years now, Keith has affectionately called me Missy, thus the name.

The journey to Missy’s garden started long ago but we are going to go back 28 days to July 20th when we got up early in the morning and loaded up 3 cats, a dog, a moving truck and a Chevy Colorado and headed to northern California.  We planned to take 2 days to get to the house on the Klamath River but we decided to drive straight through since it was so stressful on our kitties.  After 15 hours and a crazy ride, we arrived to our new home!
 
Our 3 cats and Ginger Snap made the trek but our beloved Nutmeg only lasted a week before she passed.  She was 17 years old and the commute was hard on her.  She has a nice little spot by the river and a wind chime hanging in the tree that sounds just like her!  Our other 3 have adjusted just fine.
 
The last 28 days have been spent getting situated.  We were able to get a fall garden started.  We’ve floated down the river and taught Ginger Snap to swim.  We’ve been able to sit back and enjoy the wildlife that surrounds us.  We have a variety of birds, hummingbirds, butterflies and dragonflies as well as deer, raccoons and foxes.  This past week we noticed the otters and blue jays!
 
In my blog I will share with you not only our adventures but our projects, gardening tips, and recipes.  I invite you to join us on this adventure along the river!

8 thoughts on “The Road to Missy’s Garden

  1. Thanl you for inviting me to share your journey!!! I wish you health and happiness and lots of flowers and veggies as you travel forward!!!

  2. Wow! Hey this is the 1st time I ever replied to a blog, so I hope I did it right :-0
    Glad you guys are settled in. Looks really beautiful – and green. Nice color; I think I remember what it looks like. Did you get the jerky I sent? Hope I had your address right.
    Hi Keith! Hey let me know if y’all get bored – I’ll send Jenna up there for….. oh I dunno…. maybe a month or two. Ha! Scared ya huh?
    Jen has 2 little guinea pigs now; the latest family addition – Patches and Dakota.
    I’ll tell her to send a couple pics. Jenna LOVES to email and text, etc. I’ll show her how to reply to a blog. That’ll teach ya. Ha!
    Love Donna

  3. Cathy,
    I so excited for you and your new adventure (and of course would be lying if I didn’t admit that I am a little jealous!). I’m so sorry about your cat but happy to know that she’s with you and that her final resting place is in such a beautiful spot. Looking forward to all of your posts.

  4. I am so happy to hear you all arrived safely, but so sorry to hear about Nutmug. It is nice to know, however that she is still with you in spirit at your beautiful new place. Can’t wait to read all about your new adventures. xo

Leave a Reply

